skip navigation

Iowa's all★star boys announced for June 16

By Des Moines Menace, 06/11/18, 2:30PM CDT


For the sixth staight year, the Menace hosts the Iowa High School All-Star Games for the boys (June 16) and girls (June 23).

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Monday, June 11, 2018 – The Des Moines Menace hosts the state’s 2018 high school all-star soccer action the next two Saturdays at Valley Stadium.

The games – June 16 for the boys and June 23 for the girls – are presented by Soccer Master and organized by the Iowa High School Soccer Coaches Association.

This is the Menace’s sixth straight year hosting the all-star games, showcasing graduated seniors who are nominated by high school coaches. The all-star contests are scheduled for 5 p.m., and they’re followed by Premier Development League matches for the Menace – a team that has won the first six games of the franchise’s 25th season.

Below are the rosters for the boys’ teams. The girls’ rosters will be announced next week, leading up to their all-star game.


Saturday, June 16
5 p.m.: 2018 Iowa East-West All-Star Cup (Boys)
7:30 p.m.: Premier Development League match, Thunder Bay Chill at Des Moines Menace
Venue: Valley Stadium (artificial turf) in West Des Moines, Iowa
Admission: $8 for ages 6-17; $10 for ages 18 and older; one ticket is good for both games


Congratulations to the 2018 all-stars:


EAST BOYS (blue jerseys)
Zach Jensen                 Newton                                Head Coach
Vance Bartelt               Benton Community                Midfielder
Cody Christoffersen      Cedar Rapids Jefferson          Midfielder
Alex Stone                    Cedar Rapids Kennedy          Midfielder
Boston Riley                  Cedar Rapids Prairie              Defender
Bo McMahon                  Denver                                 Goalkeeper
Walker Thede               Gladbrook-Reinbeck               Midfielder
Palmer Schulte               Grinnell                                 Defender
Tristin Gilles                  Hudson                               Midfielder/Forward
Ahmed Abdalla               Iowa City West                   Forward
Isaiah Swantz                  Iowa Mennonite                Midfielder
Danny Peak                    Linn Mar                              Midfielder
Alex Whalen                  Marion                                 Defender
Ricky Ibarra                  Marshalltown                        Midfielder/Goalkeeper
Maison Ashton               Mt. Pleasant                        Defender
Matthew Yeager            Newton                                 Forward
Joe Bacon                     Pella                                     Defender
Nick Radcliffe                  Solon                                 Defender
Julio Salgado                  Washington                         Midfielder
WEST BOYS (red jerseys)
Dan Webster               Des Moines Christian               Head Coach
TJ Klocke                     Adel-DeSoto-Minburn            Goalkeeper
Jack Nurre                  Ankeny                                  Defender
Rudy Herrera               Avoca-Hancock-Shelby-Tennant-Walnut      Defender
Jose Jeronimo               Carroll                                 Forward
Javier Huerta               Council Bluffs-Abraham Lincoln      Goalkeeper
Marcus Rosenbeck      Dallas Center-Grimes               Defender
Ben Webster               Des Moines Christian               Midfielder
Blake Von Essen         Glenwood                                 Defender
Drew Voge                  Harlan                                    Midfielder
Preston Peddicord         Johnston                               Midfielder
Colton Irlbeck            Kuemper Catholic (Carroll)         Defender
Conner James            Lewis Central                            Midfielder
Broc Hawkins               North Polk                              Forward
Micah Sarlat-Pool         Norwalk                                 Midfielder
Jerry Luna                  Sioux City North                     Defender
Esake Hasen               Sioux City West                     Midfielder/Forward
Kevin Duque               Storm Lake                              Midfielder
Connor Wallace            Waukee                                 Forward


Congratulations to the 2018 state champions:

Boys Class 1A: Iowa City Regina defeated Des Moines Christian – 2-1

Boys Class 2A: Pella defeated Storm Lake – 3-2

Boys Class 3A: Waukee defeated Bettendorf-Morningstar-Rivermont – 3-0

The boys’ championships were June 2 at Cownie Soccer Park in Des Moines.